9 Best Directify Alternatives in 2026
For no-code builders at a Directify plan wall: caps, AI costs and exit options, compared on 9 tools.

Directify is well liked: in August 2026 one new builder wrote, "I'm incredibly happy with the product and the support" (r/directorymakers). The pressure point is the plan walls: 50 listings on the $12 Starter plan, one directory until the $69 Growth plan, and payments and lead forms only from the $39 Pro plan. One builder asked whether to "throw in another 39 bucks monthly" when plain hosting cost him 7 (September 2026). Its former founder says he sold it in February 2026 (details in the FAQ).
Our pick: LocusPilot Directory Builder is the best Directify alternative for English-language local-business directories up to 1,000 listings, judged from vendor documentation rather than hands-on tests: it finds the businesses, writes AI review analysis and guides in the build, and includes two directory slots on the entry plan. Listable is the hosted pay-once option, and Directorist or GeoDirectory suit you if you will run WordPress. If the directory earns through built-in Stripe payments, paid claims or ads, Directify fits better.
What matters when you leave Directify?
Five questions decide the move:
- How many directories and listings does your budget cover?
- Which plan includes AI writing, and does it need an AI account you connect?
- How do listings get in: pulled for you, Maps import or CSV?
- Does it earn from on-site payments, or from leads and featured slots you invoice?
- What can you take with you if you leave?
How do the Directify alternatives compare?
| Product | Best for | Starting price | What's different | Review |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| LocusPilot | Several local directories on one plan | $29/mo (2 directories) | Businesses pulled for you; AI review analysis and guides in the build | Read → |
| Brilliant Directories | Paid member directories at scale | $97/mo | Up to 100,000 members with recurring billing | Read → |
| Softr | Directories behind logins and permissions | Free · $25/mo | Runs on Airtable, Google Sheets or Softr Databases | Read → |
| GeoDirectory | Several WordPress directories on one license | Free · $139/yr | All add-ons on unlimited sites for $229/yr | Read → |
| Directorist | Unlimited listings in a free plugin | Free · $129/yr list ($116 sale) | Free core with no listing cap | Read → |
| Listable | A hosted builder you pay for once | $9.99/mo · $159 once | Lifetime plans from $159 once | Read → |
| HivePress | Marketplace-style directories on WordPress | Free · $99/yr | Charges for listings in the free version | Read → |
| Listeo | Directories that take bookings | $119 once list ($89 sale) | Booking calendar and commissions built in | Read → |
| eDirectory | A self-hosted license with source access | $99/mo | $1,499 one-time PHP source license | Read → |
USD, current new-customer prices from each vendor's pricing page on 25 October 2026; billed monthly unless marked. On an older Directify rate or lifetime deal, compare with what you pay.
1. LocusPilot Directory Builder
LocusPilot Directory Builder is a hosted builder for local-business directories. You fill in a short form: one of 4,274 Google Business categories, a city, a brand and a design. The engine then finds the businesses itself, so there is no Maps import pack to buy and no CSV to map.
The review analysis and guides are AI-written in the build and editable, priced in plan credits. Each listing page sums up its recent reviews: what customers praise, what they warn about, and who the business suits. Larger directories also get best-of pages, comparisons and guides under an author persona, a byline you create. The $29 Operator plan includes two directory slots, each capped at 1,000 listings, and its 30 monthly credits refresh 600 listings in total.
- Two directory slots on the $29 Operator plan, plus up to 3 extra at $2 a month each
- Up to 15 cities in one state per directory (another state needs a second directory), each 2 credits plus 0.1 per estimated listing
- Review analysis on each listing page (thin-review listings say so), ranked on a published methodology
- Custom domain supported; quote form on every listing, with calls, WhatsApp taps and clicks tracked


Not for: payments on the site, more than 1,000 listings per directory (the cap covers all cities), non-English directories or exporting the site. Needs an active subscription; no refunds.
Why choose LocusPilot for a local directory?
So far it looks really good and has a lot of potential
SSean T., LocusPilot customer, undated early feedback on the directory engine
- LocusPilot finds the businesses and writes the review analysis and guides in the build. Browse the Puchong Cafe demo: 200 listings, about 25 credits to build.
- pjcafe.my, a cafe directory LocusPilot built and runs, logged 5,230 clicks and 801,035 impressions in Google Search Console, 5 July to 24 October 2026, average position 7.4: one directory, not a forecast.
- A 1,000-listing directory costs 105 credits to build and 50 per monthly refresh, so it needs Growth's 100 credits or top-ups from $0.85 a credit.
LocusPilot vs Directify
| Feature | LocusPilot | Directify |
|---|---|---|
| Cheapest way to start | $29/mo Operator; first build costs no credits | Free for 10 listings; $12/mo Starter for 50wins |
| Directories included | 2 slots on Operator ($29, up to 3 extra at $2/mo), 6 on Growth ($97)wins | 1 until Growth at $69/mo (3); unlimited on Agency at $149/mo |
| Listings | Up to 1,000 per directory | Unlimited from Pro at $39/mowins |
| AI writing | AI review analysis, best-of pages and guides written in the build, editable, priced in creditswins | AI Content Generator from Growth ($69/mo); OpenAI and Claude integrations (Pro) and Maps-import AI enrichment use an AI account you connect |
| Getting businesses in | Pulled for you from 4,274 Google Business categorieswins | Google Maps import from $9 per 100 listings, or with your own Google API key without Directify import credits (Google API charges may apply); CSV and Google Sheets |
| Languages | English only | 1 on Free, unlimited on paid plans; Maps search in any languagewins |
| Payments on the site | None; featured slots are sold and invoiced off-platform | Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Creem or PayPal from Pro, 0% platform feeswins |
| Lead capture | Quote form on every listing, inbox, call and WhatsApp tracking | Forms and lead collection from Pro, with a pay-per-lead option |
| If you leave | The directory cannot be exported | CSV export of listings; post-cancellation export depends on planwins |
Directify wins on starting price, listing count, languages, payments on the site and export. For three 100-listing local directories, LocusPilot is $31 a month against $69 on Directify Growth; Directify Agency gives unlimited directories at $149.
2. Brilliant Directories
Brilliant Directories is a hosted platform built around members who pay for their profiles. One plan covers hosting, a white-label site, up to 100,000 members and recurring billing through Stripe, PayPal or Authorize.net, with $0 platform fees. Its Instant Business Data fills a directory from 3,500+ categories.
For a Directify user, Brilliant Directories is the step up when paid membership is the business. The monthly plan is $97 for one site and 100 business records, and the full set of premium add-ons costs $95 a month more. Our Brilliant Directories alternatives page goes deeper.
Strengths
- Up to 100,000 members on either plan
- Recurring billing and failed-card retry built in
- Business data from 3,500+ categories, no CSV needed
- White-label site and admin panel
Watch out for
- One site per plan; three lifetime sites cost $1,950
- AI crawlers are blocked on the hosting included with every plan; the $15/mo Enhanced Hosting Bundle allows them
- Many features are premium add-ons
Pick Brilliant Directories if members paying dues is the business and you have time to learn a large admin panel.
3. Softr
Softr is a hosted no-code app builder with directory templates. You build on Softr Databases or connect Airtable or Google Sheets, then shape the pages with blocks or the AI Co-Builder. Logins, permissions and hosting come built in.
Softr fits a Directify user whose directory sits behind a login, for members, partners or staff. The free plan holds 1,000 records per database; a custom domain needs Basic at $25 a month. Its directory templates target resource, partner and employee directories. We did not check its payments, paid listings or listing reviews.
Strengths
- Free plan with unlimited apps and 1,000 records per database
- Connects to 15+ data sources, including Airtable and Google Sheets
- User logins, with granular permissions from Pro
- AI Co-Builder for building and changing the app
Watch out for
- No Google Maps import named on the vendor pages checked on 25 October 2026
- Softr branding stays until Pro at $119/mo
- AI credits are capped: 5 a month on Free, 50 on Pro
Pick Softr if your listings live in Airtable or Google Sheets and visitors should sign in to see them.
4. GeoDirectory
GeoDirectory is a free WordPress plugin from AyeCode. It runs on your own hosting with any theme. The free core has a 40+ field submission form builder, Google Maps, reviews, and CSV import and export; paid add-ons cover more cities, paid listings, claims and ads.
For a Directify user stuck at one directory, the license is the draw: every add-on on unlimited sites you own costs $229 a year, or $139 for one site. If you stop paying, the plugins keep working without updates. Our GeoDirectory alternatives comparison covers its limits in depth.
Strengths
- No published listing cap found
- Every add-on on unlimited sites for $229 a year
- CSV import and export of listings and reviews in the free core
- Plugins keep working if you stop renewing
Watch out for
- A 2-star WordPress.org review (June 2025) called its support "terrible"
- More than one city needs Location Manager (from $49); no AI content features named, 25 October 2026
- Hosting, theme and updates are yours to run
Pick GeoDirectory if you will run WordPress and want several directories on one yearly license.
5. Directorist
Directorist is a WordPress directory plugin from wpWax with 20,000+ active installations on WordPress.org (25 October 2026). Where Directify's free plan stops at 10 listings, Directorist's free core has no listing cap, plus custom fields, several directory types and CSV import. Its AI setup builds a directory's structure and fields.
Paid listings, payments, claims and bookings need a paid plan: $129 a year list for one site ($116 on sale, 25 October 2026). The Google Maps importer is a paid extension (also in every paid plan) and runs on your own Google Places API key with billing on; Google API charges may apply.
Strengths
- No listing cap in the free core
- Several directory types on one site, free
- Stripe, PayPal and Authorize.net in every paid plan
- Lifetime licenses from $379
Watch out for
- Paid listings, claims and payments need a paid plan
- Its AI sets up fields; the vendor does not say it writes listings
- A WordPress.org reviewer (May 2026) said a major update wiped his customizations
Pick Directorist to get every listing live before paying (with CSV, free); see where Directorist users go next.
6. Listable
Listable (get-listable.com) is a hosted no-code directory builder, unrelated to the Listable WordPress theme. You describe the directory in plain text and its AI wizard creates the fields, categories, sample listings and pages. Growth and Pro add an MCP server so Claude can manage the directory.
Listable's draw for a Directify user is the pay-once option. Starter is $9.99 a month or $159 once for one site and 100 listings. Growth, at $19.99 a month or $299 once, adds three sites, unlimited listings, payments, claims and lead forms. Founder John Richardson launched it in October 2025.
Strengths
- Pay-once plans at $159, $299 or $399
- Three sites and unlimited listings on Growth
- AI wizard builds fields, categories and sample pages
- Stripe or PayPal for paid and featured listings, from Growth
Watch out for
- No free plan; no Google Maps import named on the vendor pages checked on 25 October 2026
- Built-in AI is 25 requests a month; MCP server and REST API are labeled beta
- Pay-once access lasts while the service operates; solo founder, launched October 2025
Pick Listable if you like how Directify works but would rather pay once than every month.
7. HivePress
HivePress is a free WordPress plugin for listing and marketplace sites, made by HiveApps. Niche themes cover rentals, experts, meetings, tasks and jobs, at $69 to $89 each. Even the free version can charge for listings, featured spots and claims through WooCommerce.
HivePress suits a Directify user whose project looks more like Airbnb than a business directory: bookings, requests and commission on sales. Every extension and theme costs $99 a year (site count not stated), or $199 for unlimited sites, and single add-ons cost $29 to $39 once. Reviews, messages and geolocation add-ons are free.
Strengths
- Paid listings, featured fees and claims in the free version
- Every extension and theme for $99 a year
- Rated 4.9 stars from 221 WordPress.org reviews (25 October 2026)
- Marketplace and Bookings add-ons at $39 each
Watch out for
- A WordPress.org reviewer (May 2026) found deeper customization needed CSS and PHP
- CSV import and SEO controls are $29 add-ons
- Recurring memberships need WooCommerce Subscriptions
Pick HivePress for a rental, service or jobs marketplace on WordPress that fits its themes, or if you can pay for custom work.
8. Listeo
Listeo is a WordPress directory and booking theme from Purethemes, sold as a one-time license. Bookings are built in: calendars, time slots, tickets and a commission on each booking, paid through WooCommerce. Its nine bundled plugins include AI Review Highlights (pros and cons from reviews) and the free tier of a Google Places importer.
For a Directify user, Listeo swaps a monthly bill for WordPress upkeep. One site lists at $119 ($89 on sale, 25 October 2026) and three at $357 ($149 on sale), with 12 months of support; its terms let Purethemes charge for updates.
Strengths
- Bookings, calendars and commissions in the theme
- Three-site license: $357 list ($149 on sale)
- Nine bundled plugins, including MCP; the Pro importer's inclusion is not stated
- Vendor says it stays fast at 20,000+ listings
Watch out for
- AI search, chat and the Places importer bill to your own OpenAI, Gemini, Mistral or Google accounts
- Support renewal: $59 a year per its FAQ, 50% of price per its terms
- Voluntary refunds: 7 days, defects only; statutory rights unaffected
Pick Listeo if visitors should book and pay inside your directory and WordPress upkeep is fine.
9. eDirectory
eDirectory is directory software from Arca Solutions, sold as a hosted cloud service or as a PHP source license for your own server. Every plan lists unlimited listings and members and payment processing. Its AI features, including AI-generated review summaries, run on your own OpenAI API account.
eDirectory fits a Directify user who wants source access or a guided setup. Professional Cloud is $99 a month and shows "Powered by eDirectory"; Enterprise Cloud is $199. The Enterprise Source license is $1,499 once with 30 days of support; version upgrades need a paid support package, and a small part of the code is protected for licensing.
Strengths
- Unlimited listings and members on every plan
- Self-host with the $1,499 source license
- Payment processing included
- Start on the cloud and move to self-hosted later
Watch out for
- No self-serve trial
- Auto-renewing terms need written notice 30 days before renewal; refunds only within 48 hours, none on promotions
- Plugins cost $97 to $299 each
Pick eDirectory if you want a self-hosted license with source access, or a sales team to set the directory up with you.
What do one and three directories cost on each tool?
For three directories, Listable ($19.99/mo), LocusPilot ($31/mo) and the WordPress free cores cost least; Directify Growth is $69/mo. Current new-customer prices in USD, 25 October 2026; hosting excluded.
| Tool | One directory, 100 listings | Three directories | Note |
|---|---|---|---|
| Directify | $39/mo on Pro ($33/mo billed yearly); Starter stops at 50 listings | $69/mo on Growth ($57/mo billed yearly) | AI Content Generator on Growth; OpenAI and Claude integrations use an AI account you connect |
| LocusPilot | $29/mo on Operator; build 15 credits (first build uses no credits), refresh 5 a month | $31/mo: Operator plus one $2 slot | Builds after the first use 15 credits each; refreshing all three monthly uses 15 of Operator's 30 credits |
| Brilliant Directories | $97/mo | $291/mo as three plans, or $1,950 once for three lifetime sites | 100 business records on the monthly plan |
| Softr | $25/mo or $228/yr on Basic, for a custom domain | Not verified: custom domains per plan were not captured | Removing Softr branding needs Pro at $119/mo |
| GeoDirectory | Free core; $139/yr for all add-ons, one site | Free core on each site; $229/yr for all add-ons on unlimited sites | Plus hosting |
| Directorist | Free core; $129/yr list for one site ($116 on sale, 25 October 2026) | Free core on each site; $169/yr list for paid features on five sites ($135 on sale) | Plus hosting |
| Listable | $9.99/mo on Starter, or $19.99/mo on Growth for payments and leads | $19.99/mo on Growth, or $299 once | Starter allows 100 listings per site |
| HivePress | Free core; $99/yr bundle (site count not stated) | Free core on each site; $199/yr bundle for unlimited sites | Plus hosting |
| Listeo | $119 once list ($89 on sale, 25 October 2026) | $357 once list for three sites ($149 on sale) | 12 months of support; terms let Purethemes charge for updates; plus hosting |
| eDirectory | $99/mo on Professional Cloud | Sites per plan not stated | Cheapest plan shows "Powered by eDirectory" |
With a custom domain, Listable Starter at $9.99 a month for 100 listings is the cheapest hosted plan here, then Directify Starter at $12 for 50; Directify and Softr also have free plans.
How do you move a directory off Directify?
Keep the old directory live until the new one checks out.
- Export your listings to CSV first; Directify's terms say export options after cancelling depend on your plan.
- Note which URLs bring in search traffic.
- Build the new directory while Directify stays live. LocusPilot rebuilds rather than imports: descriptions, custom fields, custom pages, blog posts, submission history, claims, reviews, owner accounts and URLs do not carry over.
- LocusPilot supports a custom domain but has not published redirect controls for old URLs; keep the old site live on its own address or ask before you move the domain.
- Cancel from the Directify dashboard only once everything is accounted for, before renewal; fees are non-refundable unless the law or your checkout offer says otherwise.
When should you stay with Directify?
Directify is the better tool to keep for a directory that earns from paid submissions, paid claims or ads, local or not. Payments go to your own Stripe, Lemon Squeezy, Creem or PayPal account with 0% platform fees. One affiliate-directory builder called it "my top choice for simplicity" (May 2025).
Stay too if you fit under 50 listings on Starter, or hold a lifetime deal or grandfathered rate. A directory that already earns beats a move you do not need.
Frequently asked questions
Who owns Directify now?
Is there a free Directify alternative?
Which Directify alternative has no listing cap?
Does Directify's AI need my own API key?
Can I move my Directify directory to another platform?
Is LocusPilot cheaper than Directify?
Which Directify alternative is right for you?
- Several English-language local directories, written for you: LocusPilot
- Hosted like Directify, paid for once: Listable
- Members paying dues on the site: Brilliant Directories
- Unlimited listings on WordPress for $0: Directorist, or GeoDirectory for several sites
- Bookings and commissions: Listeo
- A directory that earns through built-in payments, paid claims or ads: Stay with Directify
LocusPilot has no free plan and no refunds, so browse the Puchong Cafe demo first, then build one niche in one city and keep Directify live. Directify and Listable offer 7-day trials; HivePress and GeoDirectory offer 30-day refunds.